Dec. 11, 2019

Dec. 11, 2019

Presidential message

I am pleased to announce that we have named the members of the Climate Change Task Force, and that the group will begin meeting in January 2020.

This task force represents another step forward in the understanding and integration of environmental sustainability concerns in the institutional life of the University. The main purpose of the task force is to help design an institutional action plan for climate change, and to make recommendations in regard to achieving carbon neutrality on campus and tactics to get us there.

We have taken some organizational steps already to engage in the discernment needed to accomplish this. We have formed a previously announced Sustainability Governance Committee composed of senior leaders who will be responsible for championing the plan and who will be held accountable to implement the plan and reach identified benchmarks. Additionally, we have elevated the position of Sustainability Coordinator to Director of Sustainability, a position that will be an integral part of the Sustainability Governance Committee. We are in the final stages of interviewing and expect to have a selection before the beginning of the spring 2020 semester.

Finally, we have reconfigured the Creighton Global Initiative into a new program, the Common Home Project, that will award funding to collaborative interdisciplinary projects in Omaha and across the world that have explicit sustainability goals. More details on this initiative will be announced at the beginning of the spring semester.

René Padilla, PhD, vice provost for Global Engagement, and the new Director of Sustainability will serve as co-chairs of the Climate Change Task Force, and provide overall coordination for the work of the task force and the Sustainability Governance Committee. The Climate Change Task Force members are:


  • Lucinda Carroll, DDS, School of Dentistry
  • Kristen Drescher, PhD, School of Medicine / Graduate School
  • Peter Gallo, PhD, Heider College of Business
  • Erin Gross, PhD, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Paul McGreal, JD, LLM, School of Law
  • Paul Price, PharmD, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
  • Margo Minnich, DNP, RN, College of Nursing
  • Ryan Wishart, PhD, College of Arts and Sciences


  • Rick Davis, University Communications and Marketing
  • Mary Duda, Environmental Health and Safety
  • Hayley Henriksen, University Relations
  • Kyle Lierk, Campus Ministry
  • Lucas Novotny, Division of Student Life
  • Cathy Rupprecht, Facilities Management and Planning
  • Beth Stinebrink, University Communications and Marketing
  • Sr. Candice Tucci, OSF, College of Nursing
  • TBA, Division of Finance


  • Jenna Ackerman, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
  • Adam Bergh, School of Medicine
  • Reagan Greene, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Colin Lakeman, Heider College of Business
  • Ashley Nelson, Heider College of Business
  • Laura Steele, School of Law
  • Sam Tighe-Dolan, College of Arts and Sciences

Each of these groups will be encouraged to bring in additional voices – faculty, staff, students, community members, and experts – at various points of their work. I want to thank Dr. Padilla for serving as co-chair and the members of the task force for accepting this responsibility. I eagerly look forward to their findings and recommendations.


Rev. Daniel S. Hendrickson, SJ, PhD